What's vegan about cane sugar?

  • Get a FREE Bullet with Orders $59+

What's vegan about cane sugar?

Petite Valentine Petite Valentine
While shopping this evening my husband came across "Vegan Cane Sugar." He did a double take because isn't all sugar vegan, i.e. not made from animals? Can an EF vegan explain this one to us?
07/11/2011
  • Buy 1 Toy, Get 1 FREE
  • Save 20% on Luxury Toys
  • Add Some Buzz To Your Favourite Toy & Save 60% On Kit
  • Pick Any 2 E-Stim Toys, Get 60% Off A Kit
  • Stock Up On Gifts! Save 80%. Limited Quantity
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
All promotions
potstickers potstickers
I guess they don't harvest it from the Sugar Crane.
07/12/2011
DeliciousSurprise DeliciousSurprise
During the final purification process, cane sugar is filtered through activated carbon (charcoal) which may be of animal, vegetable, or mineral origin.


Source.
07/12/2011
Petite Valentine Petite Valentine
Quote:
Originally posted by DeliciousSurprise
During the final purification process, cane sugar is filtered through activated carbon (charcoal) which may be of animal, vegetable, or mineral origin.


Source.
"Over half of the cane refineries in the United States use bone char (charcoal made from animal bones) as their activated carbon source. The bone char used in this filtering process is so far removed from its animal source that cane sugar processed in this method is deemed kosher pareve, which, according to Jewish dietary laws, means that it contains no meat or milk in any form as an ingredient. A number of vegans disagree with this perspective."

I'm not vegan and even if I disagree with the perspective. You either use animal bones or you don't. Thanks for the link DS!

@ Postickers: funny!
07/13/2011
Total posts: 4
Unique posters: 3